IRS and State of Texas Announce Relief for Victims of Tropical Storm Imelda

The IRS has announced that relief is being provided for victims of Tropical Storm Imelda, which includes – as of now – Chambers, Harris, Jefferson, Liberty, Montgomery, and Orange Counties.  Affected taxpayers now have until January 31, 2020, in which to file various individual and business tax returns, the filing deadlines of which started on September 17, 2019.  Taxpayers with an address of record in these counties are automatically eligible.  IRS will work with those taxpayers who live outside the disaster area but whose records necessary to meet a deadline occurring during the postponement period are located in the affected area. 

The relief also applies to quarterly estimated income tax payments, quarterly employment and excise tax returns, and tax-exempt organization returns.

The Imelda announcement, IR-2019-164 and IRS's disaster relief announcements can be found online.

On September 19, Governor Abbott issued a disaster declaration for the following 13 counties that were affected by severe weather and flooding in the wake of Tropical Storm Imelda: Brazoria, Chambers, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, and San Jacinto. Taxpayers affected by the severe weather and flooding are eligible (by request only) for an extension of time to file and pay taxes due

Have Questions? Contact Us